Page 59 - TheManger09092011

This is a SEO version of TheManger09092011. Click here to view full version

« Previous Page Table of Contents Next Page »
LMA awards dinner, which took
place at London’s Park Lane Hilton hotel on May 23rd,
saw Sir Alex Ferguson scoop the top prize, the LMA
Manager of the Year award sponsored by Barclays.
Te award was earned in recognition of Manchester
United’s season, which saw them win the Barclays
Premier League and reach the UEFA Champions League
fnal for the third time in four seasons. Te league
triumph set a record in English football, as Manchester
United became the frst team to win the tile 19 times.
In addition to the main award, Ferguson was also
presented with the Special Merit award sponsored by
Barclays in recognition of his setting two records; passing
2,000 games in management and becoming the longest
serving manager in Manchester United’s history.
On receiving the awards, Ferguson said: “It’s a great
honour to be acknowledged by your peers. I’d like to
congratulate all of the managers throughout the divisions
on a job well done this season.”
LMA Chairman, Howard Wilkinson, said: “Sir
Alex fully deserves this recognition, once again he has
demonstrated genius at critical moments. It’s not just
his longevity at one of the world’s biggest clubs which is
remarkable, but also his consistent delivery of success.”
Te full list of award winners is as follows:
• LMA Manager of the Year sponsored by Barclays:
Sir Alex Ferguson CBE
• LMA Special Merit award sponsored by Barclays:
Sir Alex Ferguson CBE
• Barclays Premier League Manager of the Year:
Sir Alex Ferguson CBE
• npower Football League Championship Manager
of the Year:
Paul Lambert
• npower Football League One Manager of the Year:
Gus Poyet
• npower Football League Two Manager of the Year:
John Sheridan
• LMA Service to Football award sponsored by npower:
Jimmy Hill OBE
• Barclays Community Sports award:
Rabiyha Ahmed